Site Migration

The server migration is on hold. Check here for more info.


From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Fox Broadcasting Company
Founded October 9, 1986 (on-air operations)
April 5, 1987 (primetime launch)
President David Madden
Company Fox Corporation (Split off from 21st Century Fox on March 20, 2019)
Notable Series Bones
Hell's Kitchen
Family Guy
The Simpsons
The Masked Singer

FOX is an American broadcast television network under the ownership of Fox Corporation. It was founded on October 9, 1986, and is the fifth of the nation-wide terrestrial networks, alongside NBC, CBS and ABC, and succeeding the defunct DuMont network.



The Fox Broadcasting Company (regularly shortened to just FOX) is a national television network in the United States owned by the Fox Entertainment Company and, by proxy, Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation. The network spent twenty years building a reputation to rival the big three (ABC, NBC and CBS) national networks, beginning in March 1985 when Murdoch purchased half of 20th Century Fox studios only to buy the rest of the studio six months later. However, although the groundwork for the network began 1985, FOX wasn't officially launched until October 9, 1986 when the network began broadcast to 96 stations nationwide (comparatively, the big three had between 210 and 215 broadcast stations). Although the network was available in 80% of all homes, the only series broadcast in the beginning was The Late Show Starring Joan Rivers.

FOX became the iconoclast in comparison to its competition, preferring to target young, hip audiences rather than the older demographic which the big three had appealed to because of familiarity. On April 5, 1987 the network premiered its first primetime shows: Married... with Children and The Tracey Ullman Show. By 1993, FOX expanded into a full week schedule of primetime shows. But, their mark wasn't made on the industry until the early 1990s when Murdoch's News Corporation (later 21st Century Fox) bought up more television station groups and outbid CBS for the rights to show National Football Conference games from the NFL. As the years went on, the network created more and more original programming targeted towards younger audiences, expanding into drama (The X-Files, Beverly Hills 90210, The O.C.), animation (The Simpsons, Futurama, Family Guy, King of the Hill), sketch comedy (In Living Color, The Ben Stiller Show, MADtv) and sitcoms (Malcolm in the Middle, That 70's Show, Arrested Development). Currently, the network can be seen in approximately 96.18% of all U.S. households.

Since its foundation, FOX has run an owned-and-operated station division, Fox Television Stations, which was formed in 1986 from six independent stations formerly owned by Metromedia. FTS also oversees operations of the syndication service MyNetworkTV.


Primetime Shows (2023-2024 Season)


New and returing series
Midseason series
Summer series (2024)
  • TBA
Sports coverage
Canceled/ended in 2022-23


Non-primetime news

Current Primetime Schedule

Day 7:00 7:30 8:00 8:30 9:00 9:30
Monday America's Most Wanted TMZ Investigates
Tuesday Name That Tune The Floor
Wednesday I Can See Your Voice We Are Family
Thursday Next Level Chef Farmer Wants a Wife
Friday WWE SmackDown
Saturday College basketball
Sunday Next Level Chef The Simpsons Krapopolis The Great North Grimsburg

Current Non-Primetime Schedule


Day 9:00 9:30 10:00 10:30 11:00 11:30
Saturday Weekend Marketplace
Sunday FOX News Sunday

Afternoon and Evening

FOX airs various sports on Saturday and Sunday afternoon throughout the year including MLB on FOX, NFL on FOX, and NASCAR on FOX. FOX has no weekday network programming outside of primetime.

Late Night

Day 11:00PM 11:30PM

Various repeats

FOX owned-and-operated stations

FOX owns and operates the following television stations under its Fox Television Stations division:

DMA Location Call Digital Virtual Network
1 New York City NY WNYW 27 5 FOX
2 Los Angeles CA KTTV 11
3 Chicago IL WFLD 31 32
4 Philadelphia PA WTXF-TV 31 29
5 Dallas/Ft. Worth TX KDFW 35 4
6 San Francisco/Oakland CA KTVU 44 2
7 Washington D C WTTG 36 5
8 Houston TX KRIV 26
10 Atlanta GA WAGA-TV 27 5
11 Tampa/St. Petersburg FL WTVT 13
12 Phoenix AZ KSAZ-TV 10
13 Seattle WA KCPQ 13
14 Detroit MI WJBK 7 2
15 Minneapolis/St. Paul MN KMSP-TV 9
18 Orlando FL WOFL 22 35
35 Milwaukee WI WITI 33 6
40 Austin TX KTBC 7
156 Ocala/Gainesville FL WOGX 31 51

Fox owned MyNetworkTV and independent stations

Fox owns the following MyNetworkTV and independent stations:

DMA Location Call Digital Virtual Affiliation
1 New York City NY WWOR-TV 38 9 My Network TV
2 Los Angeles CA KCOP-TV 13
3 Chicago IL WPWR-TV 51 50 The CW
My Network TV (.2)
5 Dallas/Ft. Worth TX KDFI 36 27 My Network TV
6 San Francisco/Oakland CA KICU 36 Independent
7 Washington DC WDCA 35 20 My Network TV
8 Houston TX KTXH 19 20
12 Phoenix AZ KUTP 26 45
13 Seattle WA KZJO 36 22
15 Minneapolis/St. Paul MN KFTC 29
18 Orlando FL WRBW 41 65

Previous Logos

External Sites

Official website for FOX