Buffy the Vampire Slayer

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Premiere March 10, 1997
Finale May 20, 2003
Airs FX (Syndication)
Pivot (Syndication)
Creator Joss Whedon
Network The WB (seasons 1-5)
UPN (seasons 6-7)
Style 60-minute paranormal drama
Company Mutant Enemy, Inc.
Kuzui Enterprises
Sandollar Television
20th Century Fox Television
Seasons 7
Episodes 144
Origin USA
Watch Now Netflix

Buffy the Vampire Slayer is a groundbreaking program that, along with 7th Heaven, helped The WB gain prominence and respectability as a network. The critically acclaimed show is well-known for its intricate universe, which spans more than a millennium, and is gradually revealed over the course of its seven seasons, as well as its eventual spinoff, Angel, and expanded universe.

The core of the show centers around Buffy Summers, an ordinary teenage girl who is imbued with powers from a lineage of heroes dubbed the slayer. The slayer lineage is centered around a mythical line of people who are sworn to protect humankind from supernatural villains, most notably the vampire, a reanimated human who has supernatural healing and strength. Joining a slayer in her destiny is her watcher, a person designated by the Watcher's Council as well-versed in demon and slayer lore who trains and guides that particular slayer until her death.

Although much of the show revolves around Buffy's chosen destiny and the history of the slayer lineage, the show also has a strong focus on her group of friends, termed the Scooby Gang, and how they deal with their own lives as they are thrust into the often cataclysmic events that Buffy deals with everyday. The show's supporting characters proved to be so well developed that a spinoff, Angel, was created that further fleshes out the universe's mythology, eventually housing five original Buffy the Vampire Slayer characters in its main cast.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer comprises of seven television seasons, with the first five being on the WB before moving over to UPN for its final two seasons. In late 2006, Joss Whedon announced that a canonical eighth season will transpire through a comic medium, and will take place a year and a half after the events of the series finale, "Chosen." Due in part to the series' renewed popularity, Whedon is also finalizing talks with BBC to broadcast the first posthumous Buffy television production: a 90-minute TV movie following Giles' youth called Ripper.



Main Cast

Cast Legend
Top Billing
Special Guest Star
Actor Character Seasons
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sarah Michelle Gellar Buffy Summers
Nicholas Brendon Xander Harris
Alyson Hannigan Willow Rosenberg
Charisma Carpenter Cordelia Chase
Anthony Stewart Head Rupert Giles
David Boreanaz Angel
Seth Green Daniel "Oz" Osbourne
Marc Blucas Riley Finn
James Marsters Spike
Emma Caulfield "Anya" Jenkins
Michelle Trachtenberg Dawn Summers
Amber Benson Tara Maclay
Actor Character 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Supporting Cast

Actor Character Seasons
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Julie Benz Darla
Mercedes McNab Harmony Kendall
Kristine Sutherland Joyce Summers
Elizabeth Anne Allen Amy Madison
Robia LaMorte Jenny Calendar
Juliet Landau Drusilla
Danny Strong Jonathan Levinson
Robin Sachs Ethan Rayne
Eliza Dushku Faith Lehane
Adam Busch Warren Meers
Tom Lenk Andrew Wells
D.B. Woodside Principal Robin Wood
Actor Character 1 2 3 4 5 6 7


Seven seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer have aired on television. The show premiered on The WB, where it ran for five seasons. During the tailend of the fifth season, negotiations between The WB and UPN began for the right to air the sixth season of the show. In the end, UPN won out, and the sixth season's premiere episode, Bargaining, drew the biggest ratings for the entire series. In late 2006, it was announced that Joss Whedon will be penning the first and last arcs of a canonical season eight through a graphic novel medium. Joining him will be fellow former Buffyverse writers, including Drew Goddard and Jane Espenson.

Season Premiere Finale #
Buffy the Vampire Slayer July 31, 1992
Original Pilot Unaired
The WB
Season One March 10, 1997 June 2, 1997 12
Season Two September 15, 1997 May 19, 1998 22
Season Three September 29, 1998 July 13, 1999 22
Season Four October 5, 1999 May 23, 2000 22
Season Five September 26, 2000 May 22, 2001 22
Season Six October 2, 2001 May 21, 2002 22
Season Seven September 24, 2002 May 20, 2003 22
Season Eight March 7, 2007 January 6, 2011 40+3
Season Nine September 15, 2011


  • At a Glance: Additional information about the series
  • Characters: A listing of characters in the series
  • Mythology: Further information about the rich mythology that surrounds the series
  • Terminology: Unique terms that make up the series

DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Complete Series: Region 1 (USA)
The Chosen Collection November 15, 2005 40


Complete Series: Region 1 (Canada)
The Complete Series October 12, 2010 40


Season Sets
The Complete First Season January 15, 2002 3


The Complete Second Season June 11, 2002 6


The Complete Third Season January 7, 2003 6


The Complete Fourth Season June 10, 2003 6


The Complete Fifth Season December 9, 2003 6


The Complete Sixth Season May 25, 2004 6


The Complete Seventh Season November 16, 2004 6


'Best Of' Collections
Spike: Love Is Hell June 25, 2005 1


Curse of the Hellmouth October 4, 2005 2


External Sites