From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
TVA logo 2020.jpg
Founded September 12, 1971
President Pierre Francoeur
Company Groupe TVA
Notable Series Salut Bonjour
Juste pour rire
Chicago Fire: Caserne 51
Esprits criminels
Du talent à revendre
Top Modèles
Les Feux de l'amour
Une minute pour gagnier
Movie Projector Icon.gif This article about a network needs to be expanded with more information.
Please help out by editing it.

TVA (known officially as Téléviseurs associés) is a privately-owned commercial French language broadcast television network in Quebec, Canada. It is owned by Groupe TVA, a division of Quebecor Media.

TVA is available across Canada via cable, satellite and IPTV, but it has over-the-air stations only in Quebec (although it has several rebroadcasters in New Brunswick and its Gatineau affiliate CHOT-DT also serves eastern Ontario). It airs mostly Canadian content with a few French-dubbed off-network American shows and movies. All shows airing on TVA are closed captioned.

The TVA station carried on most Canadian cable, satellite and IPTV systems outside Quebec is the network's flagship, Montreal station CFTM-DT, which is time shifted for each Canadian time zone.


TVA affiliates (including city of licence and date of first sign-on)


Station City First sign-on date Notes
CFTM-DT Montreal, Quebec February 19, 1961 Charter TVA station upon the network's formation in 1971; flagship station of TVA
CFCM-DT Quebec City, Quebec July 17, 1954 Originally a dual CBC/Radio-Canada affiliate from 1954 to 1957, then solely with Radio-Canada from 1957 to 1964; disaffiliated from Radio-Canada on September 7, 1964 when CBVT signed on; charter TVA station upon the network's formation in 1971
CFER-DT Rimouski, Quebec June 4, 1978
CJPM-DT Saguenay, Quebec April 14, 1963 Charter TVA station upon the network's formation in 1971
CHLT-DT Sherbrooke, Quebec August 12, 1956 Formerly a dual CBC/Radio-Canada affiliate until September 18, 1974; switched to TVA the next day when new Radio-Canada affiliate CKSH-TV signed on
CHEM-DT Trois-Rivières, Quebec August 29, 1976

Independently owned

Station City First sign-on date Notes
CHAU-DT Carleton, Quebec October 17, 1959 Owned by Télé Inter-Rives; originally a dual CBC/Radio-Canada affiliate from 1959 to 1968, then solely with Radio-Canada from 1968 to 1980; became a secondary TVA affiliate in 1980 and switched to TVA full-time after disaffiliating from Radio-Canada on December 18, 1983
CHOT-DT Gatineau, Quebec October 30, 1978 Owned by RNC Media; replaced original local TVA affiliate CFVO-TV, which signed off on March 29, 1977
CIMT-DT Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec September 17, 1978 Owned by Télé Inter-Rives
CFEM-DT Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec 1979 Owned by RNC Media

External links