WWE SmackDown

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
WWE SmackDown
WWE Smackdown.JPG
Premiere August 29, 1999
Airs Fridays at 8PM
Creator Vince McMahon
Network/Provider UPN (1999–2006)
The CW (2006–2008)
MyNetworkTV (2008–2010)
Syfy (2010–2015)
USA (2016-2019)
FOX (2019-)
Style 120 minute professional wrestling program
Company World Wrestling Federation Entertainment (1999-2002)
World Wrestling Entertainment (2002-)
Seasons 20
Episodes 1,049 (as of September 24, 2019)
Status Currently airing season 21
Origin USA

WWE SmackDown (formerly known as Friday Night SmackDown) is a sports program currently airing on the FOX network. It formerly aired on UPN from 1999 until UPN's merger with The WB network to create The CW in September 2006. It then aired on the CW for two years. In January of 2008, The CW announced they would not be renewing their contract for the show and as a result it moved to MyNetworkTV at the end of the 2007–2008 television season. In October 2010, it made another move to Syfy and remained until December 31, 2015. One week later on January 7, 2016, SmackDown moved over to USA, the show's current home network. On October 4, 2019, the show returned to Friday nights on FOX and retained the name Friday Night Smackdown.

See also: WWE Monday Night Raw, ECW


Ring name Real name Notes
Kofi Kingston Kofi Sarkodie-Mensah WWE Champion
Shinsuke Nakamura Shinsuke Nakamura WWE Intercontinental Champion
The Revival (Scott Dawson & Dash Wilder) David Harwood & Daniel Wheeler WWE Smackdown Tag Team Champions
Bayley Pamela Martinez WWE Smackdown Women's Champion

External Sites