On January 4, 2015, I will be shutting down the server that hosts The TV IV website. It has been a very long time since I've been able to put any decent amount of time into the site, and ad revenue is plummeting. I think it is time to shut it down or hand it off to someone who can keep it going properly. If you are interested in taking over the site's code and data, contact administrators at --CygnusTMtalk

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno-Logo.jpg
Premiere May 25, 1992
Finale February 6, 2014
Host Jay Leno
Network NBC
Style 62-minute late-night talk show
Company Big Dog Productions,
NBC Studios (1992–2004),
NBC Universal Television (2004–2007),
Universal Media Studios (2007–2009, 2010–2011),
Universal Television (2011–2014)
Episodes 3,900+
Origin USA

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno is a late-night talk show that aired on NBC. The series began on May 1992 as the successor to The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson and briefly ended in May 2009 when Conan O'Brien from Late Night with Conan O'Brien became the host of The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien and Leno moved to a primetime series, The Jay Leno Show.

In January 2010, NBC announced that it would be removing O'Brien from his position as host of The Tonight Show and reinstating Leno due to the poor reception of Leno's primetime show and the complexity of his contract. Had NBC released Leno from his contract, they would have been subject to paying a reported $150 million penalty. As a result, The Jay Leno Show was cancelled and Leno resumed hosting duties at The Tonight Show on March 1, 2010.



Person Role Duration
Main Cast
Branford Marsalis Bandleader 1992-1995
Kevin Eubanks 1995-2010
Rickey Minor 2010-2014
Edd Hall Announcer 1992-2004
John Melendez 2004-2009
Wally Wingert 2010-2014


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One May 25, 1992
Season Two
Season Three
Season Four
Season Five
Season Six
Season Seven
Season Eight
Season Nine September 21, 2001
Season Ten September 24, 2001 September 27, 2002
Season Eleven September 30, 2002 September 19, 2003 281
Season Twelve September 22, 2003 September 17, 2004 225
Season Thirteen September 20, 2004 September 16, 2005 222
Season Fourteen September 19, 2005 September 15, 2006 211
Season Fifteen September 18, 2006 September 14, 2007 223
Season Sixteen September 17, 2007 September 19, 2008 187
Season Seventeen September 22, 2008 May 29, 2009 152
Season Eighteen March 1, 2010 December 23, 2010 184
Season Nineteen January 3, 2011 December 23, 2011 215
Season Twenty January 3, 2012 December 21, 2012 205
Season Twenty-One January 2, 2013 February 6, 2014 245


DVD Releases

There has not been a DVD release for this show.

External Sites