Sit Down, Shut Up (USA)

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Sit Down, Shut Up
Premiere April 19, 2009
Finale November 21, 2009
Creator Mitchell Hurwitz
Network/Provider FOX
Style 30-minute animated comedy
Company Tantamount Studios,
ITV Studios,
20th Century Fox Television,
Sony Pictures Television
Seasons 1
Episodes 13
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Sit Down, Shut Up is an animated comedy that aired on FOX. It is based on the Australian show of the same name, although interestingly, the original was live-action. One of the developers of this show is Mitchell Hurwitz, who previously did Arrested Development for FOX. A few actors from Arrested Development provide their voices in this series: Will Arnett, Jason Bateman, and Henry Winkler. The show focuses on staff members at a high school located in a small town in Florida.

The series was originally planned to be live-action, but when his attempts at selling a live-action comedy failed, Hurwitz changed formats to animation. Originally titled Class Dismissed, the series was picked up by FOX in May 2008 and received an average amount of advertising for its premiere on April 19, 2009 and given a slot in the "Animation Domination" line-up at 8:30PM, wedged between The Simpsons and Family Guy with five of the six produced episodes scheduled. Ratings for the first two episodes were so low, however, that it was pushed into the 7PM timeslot instead, a half-hour notorious for being overrun entirely by sports programming and the final timeslot for Futurama. The network reasoned that the ratings were too low for the show to air at 8:30 during sweeps.

On May 12, 2009, it was announced that the network had pulled the series from the lineup altogether following its fourth aired episode, allegedly because of racy content that was unsuitable for its new 7:00 timeslot. This caused many news outlets to declare the series cancelled. In an interview with IGN, however, Hurwitz announced that the series would finish out its run starting in June 2009 and its future is still up in the air. The show then moved to Saturday nights at midnight starting September 12th.



Actor Character
Billed Cast
Will Arnett Ennis Hofftard
Jason Bateman Larry Littlejunk
Kristin Chenoweth Miracle Grohe
Will Forte Stuart Proszakian
Tom Kenny Muhannad Sabeeh "Happy" Fa-ach Nuabar
Nick Kroll Andrew LeGustambos
Cheri Oteri Helen Klench
Kenan Thompson Sue Sezno
Henry Winkler Willard Deutschebog
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Maria Bamford Various


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One April 19, 2009 November 21, 2009 13


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites