On January 4, 2015, I will be shutting down the server that hosts The TV IV website. It has been a very long time since I've been able to put any decent amount of time into the site, and ad revenue is plummeting. I think it is time to shut it down or hand it off to someone who can keep it going properly. If you are interested in taking over the site's code and data, contact administrators at --CygnusTMtalk

Jeopardy! (1984)/Season Sixteen

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Season Sixteen
Jeopardy! (1984)
Season Premiere September 6,1999
Season Finale July 21, 2000
Episode Count 230

Season Fifteen


Season Seventeen

Season Sixteen of Jeopardy! (1984) premiered on September 6,1999.

In Depth

The first week featured a "Back to School" theme, with regular gameplay commencing the following week, on September 13, 1999. The season's first champion, Greg Lambert, held the lead for 2 days, before being defeated by Steve Fried, who would become the first champion to hold the lead for 5 days running. A few weeks later, saw the introduction of the first blind contestant, Eddie Timanus who became an instant hit with the show's fans, and was given dispensation of an extra day, due to his blindness.

This season, the opening featured the zooming out of a new Sony Pictures Studios scene against a TV tube to reveal more TV tubes with more video clips spelling out Jeopardy, and when it gets to the exclaimation point, another tube zooms in to reveal the 1996 set, and also, announcer Johnny Gilbert no longer signed off at the end of the closing credits and a new Jeopardy Online logo made its debut (with letters scrolling up to spell and an oval saying Jeopardy Online zooming in as the "Play Online and Win" text pops in with the typewriter effect).


Jeopardy! (1984) Seasons
Season 1 | Season 2 | Season 3 | Season 4 | Season 5 | Season 6 | Season 7 | Season 8 | Season 9 | Season 10 | Season 11 | Season 12 | Season 13 | Season 14 | Season 15 | Season 16 | Season 17 | Season 18 | Season 19 | Season 20 | Season 21 | Season 22 | Season 23 | Season 24 | Season 25 | Season 26 | Season 27 | Season 28 | Season 29 | Season 30