Saturday Night Live/The Complete First Season

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Complete First Season
Saturday Night Live
The Complete First Season
Release Date December 5, 2006
Format DVD
Region 1
Distributor Universal Studios Home Entertainment
Disc Count 8
Episode Count 24
Running Time 1594 minutes
Retail Price $69.98
Video Full Frame (1.33:1)
Audio English: Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Next Season Set The Complete Second Season

The Complete First Season is the first ever season release for Saturday Night Live. It was released on December 5, 2006 by Broadway Video and Universal Studios Home Entertainment.



The first season set includes all musical performances, sketches and mishaps from the first season of the sketch comedy series. This includes the infamous Louise Lasser episode, which had been kept out of syndication by Lorne Michaels for many years. Also included in the set is a 32 page photo book and original screen tests for the cast.

Disc Breakdown

Disc 1

Disc 2

Disc 3

Disc 4

Disc 5

Disc 6

Disc 7

Disc 8

Special Features

Easter Eggs


Although the initial press releases for the show claimed that the DVD release was completely uncut, this proved to not be entirely true when watched closely:

  • All bumpers except for the one between the last sketch and good nights have been cut. Broadway Video has explained that they don't consider the bumpers to be part of the show.
  • In the Rob Reiner and Dick Cavett hosted episodes, there were originally no credits because the episodes ran long. In the DVD version of the episodes, the credits roll over a montage of bumpers.
  • A parody of a Wrigley's Gum commercial which appeared in the Rob Reiner and Buck Henry episodes has been removed from both episodes.