Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares
Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares
Premiere April 27, 2004
Finale December 18, 2007
Network Channel 4
BBC America (USA)
Style 60-minute reality documentary
Company Optomen Television
Seasons 5
Episodes 30 + 6 specials
Origin UK
This article is for the British series. For the American remake, see Kitchen Nightmares (USA).

Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares is a British cooking documentary series starring notorious and critically acclaimed chef Gordon Ramsay. In each episode, Ramsay acts as a troubleshooter to failing restaurants and attempts to apply the necessary pressure to turn their fortunes around. The series was broadcast on Channel 4 in the United Kingdom and on BBC America in the United States.

In each episode, Ramsay gives himself a week to work with a restaurant to get it back on its feet. Typically, this involves reworking the dining room, changing the menu, performing stunts to garner interest from the public and, most importantly, working with the staff of the restaurant to whip them back into shape. After a week is up, he leaves the restaurant to work on its own. He typically returns after a month to see how it has faired. In some cases, the restaurant has flourished under the new direction and in others, it has collapsed into the old routine or failed outright. Occasionally, the restaurants will be revisited once again in later seasons to see if they've made any more improvement.

The series has been highly acclaimed and won a BAFTA award for Best Feature in 2005 and an International Emmy for best non-scripted entertainment in 2006. The program has been exported to several countries including Sweden and the Netherlands. In 2007, an American version was developed that relies heavily on the conventions created in the American Hell's Kitchen including the dramatic narrator (as opposed to Ramsay doing all of the narration) and the musical stings. Unlike the American show, the original tends to focus more on the food and upkeep of the restaurant than the personalities of the people involved in making it.



Person Role Duration
Billed Cast 1 2 3 4 5
Gordon Ramsay Himself * * * * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Channel 4
Season One April 27, 2004 May 18, 2004 4
Season Two May 24, 2005 July 12, 2005 8
Season Three Feburary 21, 2006 March 14, 2006 4
Season Four November 14, 2006 December 19, 2006 6
Season Five October 30, 2007 December 18, 2007 8


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Episode Collections
Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares Revisited February 6, 2006 1


Episode Collections : Region 1 (Canada)
Volume 1 October 16, 2007 2


Volume 2 October 7, 2008 2


Episode Collections : Region 1 (USA)
Complete Series One March 3, 2009 2


Complete Series Two September 1, 2009