Law & Order franchise

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Law and Order-title.jpg

Law & Order is the brainchild of Dick Wolf. It is one of the most successful US crime procedurals, as well as television franchises in general. It includes five original versions, two international remakes, and nine hundred episodes, spanning 20 years.



Official American Series

Title Format Network Years Notes
Law & Order Crime NBC 1990–2010 The original and longest running.
Law & Order: Special Victims Unit Crime NBC 1999–  Focusing on crimes of a sexual nature.
Law & Order: Criminal Intent Crime NBC 2001–2011 Focusing more on the back and forth between criminals and the police.
Law & Order: Trial by Jury Crime NBC 2005 The short-lived series is notable for having Jerry Orbach's final appearance as Det. Lennie Briscoe.
Law & Order: Los Angeles Crime NBC 2010–2011 Set in Los Angeles instead of New York City.

International Versions

Title Format Network Years Notes
Paris enquêtes criminelles French crime TF1 2007–  French adaptation of Criminal Intent
Law & Order: UK UK crime ITV1 2009–2014 UK adaptation of original Law & Order

Informal Spin-offs

Title Format Network Years Notes
Crime & Punishment Crime reality NBC 2002–2004 A show about real cases
Conviction Crime NBC 2006 Focuses on the personal lives of the characters.

See Also

The following shows have had characters crossover with one or more Law & Order series

  • Homicide: Life on the Street, in addition to multiple crossovers, Richard Belzer's character Munch started on Homicide and moved to Special Victims Unit
  • New York Undercover, also created by Dick Wolf, featured psychiatrists from the Law & Order universe
  • Deadline, also created by Dick Wolf, focused on the people who made the New York Ledger, a newspaper in the Law & Order universe