77 Sunset Strip

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
77 Sunset Strip
77 Sunset Strip-Cast.jpg
Premiere October 10, 1958
Finale February 7, 1964
Airs Tuesdays to Saturdays at 4 a.m. on MeTV
Network ABC
Style 60-minute crime drama
Company Warner Bros. Television
Distributor Warner Bros. Television
Seasons 6
Episodes 206
Origin USA

77 Sunset Strip is a crime drama that aired on ABC.

Based on a series of stories by Roy Huggins, the show featured Stuart Bailey and Jeff Spencer, two detectives who worked out of a stylish office on the title street. Suzanne was their telephone operator; tagging along for the ride was Roscoe, a racetrack fancier, and Gerald "Kookie" Kookson, a P.I. wannabe who worked as a valet next door at Dino's nightclub. Gerald and Roscoe provided many of the show's lighter moments.

Edd Byrnes (Kookie) left the show in 1959 following a contract dispute (he had become something of a pop icon with his catch phrases and a record by Connie Stevens--"Kookie, Kookie, Lend Me Your Comb") but returned a year later as a member of the firm. At the very onset, Warner Bros. was embroiled in an ownership dispute over the show and characters with its creator, Roy Huggins.

Edd Byrnes would turn up again in late 1974 auditioning to be the host of NBC's new game show Wheel of Fortune. But when they spotted him inebriated and trying to commit the alphabet to memory, he would be replaced by Chuck Woolery when the show hit the air.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast
Efrem Zimbalist, Jr. Stuart Bailey 1 2 3 4 5 6
Roger Smith Jeff Spencer 1 2 3 4 5
Edward Byrnes Gerald "Kookie" Kookson III 1 2 3 4 5
Louis Quinn Roscoe 1 2 3 4 5
Jacqueline Beer Suzanne Fabray 1 2 3 4 5
Richard Long Rex Randolph 3
Robert Logan J.R. Hale 4 5
Season numbers in red indicate a recurring or guest role in that season.
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Byron Keith Lt. Roy Gilmore 1 2 3 4 5


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One October 10, 1958 May 29, 1959 34
Season Two October 2, 1959 June 10, 1960 36
Season Three September 16, 1960 June 9, 1961 39
Season Four September 22, 1961 June 29, 1962 41
Season Five October 12, 1962 June 14, 1963 36
Season Six September 20, 1963 February 7, 1964 20


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites