The Good Lord Bird

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Good Lord Bird
Premiere October 4, 2020
Finale November 15, 2020
Creator Ethan Hawke &
Mark Richard
Network Showtime
Style 60-minute drama
Company Anthony Hemingway Productions,
Blumhouse Television
Episodes 7 (ordered)
Origin USA
The Good Lord Bird has been ordered to series but has not yet premiered. Details may change before its series premiere.
Please feel free to add the latest information by editing it.

The Good Lord Bird is an eight-part limited series based on the National Book Award-winning novel of the same name by bestselling author James McBride.

Good Lord Bird is told from the point of view of Onion, an enslaved teenager who becomes a member in 19th-century abolitionist John Brown's motley family during the time of Bleeding Kansas, eventually participating in the famous 1859 raid on the Army depot at Harpers Ferry. Brown's raid failed to initiate the slave revolt he intended, but was the instigating event that started the Civil War.



Actor Character
Main Cast
Ethan Hawke John Brown
Joshua Caleb Johnson Henry "Onion" Shackleford
Daveed Diggs Frederick Douglass
Ellar Coltrane Salmon Brown
Hubert Point-Du Jour TBA
Beau Knapp TBA
Nick Eversman TBA
Jack Alcott TBA
Mo Brings Plenty TBA
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Wyatt Russell Jeb Stuart
Rafael Casal Cook
David Morse Dutch Henry Sherman
Steve Zahn Chase
Maya Hawke Annie Brown
Orlando Jones The Rail Man


# Title Airdate
1 Meet the Lord October 4, 2020
2 A Wicked Plot October 11, 2020
3 Mister Fred October 18, 2020
4 Smells Like Bear October 25, 2020
5 TBA November 1, 2020
6 TBA November 8, 2020
7 TBA November 15, 2020


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Links