From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Surface logo.jpg
Premiere September 19, 2005
Finale February 6, 2006
Creator Josh Pate & Jonas Pate
Network NBC
Style 60-minute mystery sci-fi drama
Company Rockfish Films
NBC Universal Television
Seasons 1
Episodes 15
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Surface, originally titled Fathom, is a serial science fiction show focusing on the mysterious appearance of amphibious creatures in the world's oceans. The show focuses on several seemingly isolated individuals whose lives are impacted by the strange creatures and powerful government forces aimed at restricting information about the new discoveries. Included are marine biologist Dr. Laura 'Dee' Daugherty, who first encounters the creatures several thousand feet beneath the waters, Rich Owens, who witnesses his brother being dragged to the depths by a creature, and Miles Bennett, a young boy who finds an egg and encounters the creatures from an entirely different perspective than the rest of the world.

Surface was one of several science fiction shows with unexplained threats from the sea that premiered in the fall of 2005, including Threshold and Invasion.



Actor Character Duration
Billed Cast
Lake Bell Laura Daugherty 1
Rade Sherbedgia Dr. Aleksander Cirko 1
Carter Jenkins Miles Bennett 1
Jay R. Ferguson Richard Owens 1
Secondary Cast
Ian Anthony Dale Davis Lee 1
Shishir Kurup Dr. Singh 1
Leighton Meester Savannah Bennett 1
Eddie Hassell Phil 1


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One September 19, 2005 February 6, 2006 15


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
Surface: The Complete Series August 15, 2006 4

External Sites