From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere September 16, 1971
Finale May 16, 1973
Creator Frank R. Pierson
Network/Provider NBC
Style 60-minute western drama
Company Cherokee Productions,
Warner Bros. Television
Seasons 1
Episodes 24
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Nichols is a western drama that aired on NBC.

Set the fictional town of Nichols, Arizona, in 1914, Nichols differed from traditional Western series of the era. The main character, a sheriff, rode on a motorcycle and in an automobile rather than on the traditional horse. The hero did not carry a firearm and was generally opposed to the use of violence to solve problems, preferring other means. Margot Kidder portrayed Ruth, the love interest/barmaid of Nichols.

Starting with the seventh episode, the series was retitled James Garner as Nichols.



Actor Character
Main Cast
James Garner Nichols
Margot Kidder Ruth
Neva Patterson Ma Ketcham
John Beck Ketcham
Stuart Margolin Mitch


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One September 16, 1971 May 16, 1973 24


DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Episode Collections  (Region 1)
The Complete Series September 10, 2013 purchase 6

External Links