Last Comic Standing

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Last Comic Standing
Last Comic Standing-Logo.jpg
Premiere June 10, 2003
Finale September 9, 2015
Creator Peter Engel
Host Jay Mohr (seasons 1–3)
Anthony Clark (season 4)
Bill Bellamy (seasons 5–6)
Fearne Cotton (season 6)
Craig Robinson (season 7)
J.B. Smoove (season 8)
Anthony Jeselnik (season 9)
Network/Provider NBC
Style 60-minute (seasons 1–5) / 90-minute (seasons 6-7) comedy reality
Company Peter Engel Productions
(seasons 1–7)
Giraffe Productions
(seasons 1–3)
Push It Productions
(seasons 8-9)
Universal Television
Seasons 9
Episodes 102
Origin USA

Last Comic Standing is a competitive comedy reality series that pits upcoming stand-up comics against each other until one is declared the "last comic standing." Initially, the winning comic was awarded a development contract with NBC Universal and a special on Comedy Central. From season four on, the special was moved to Bravo.

The format of the series is as such: after several episodes of auditions and the eventual selection of the finalists, the comedians move on to where they will live for the rest of the season. An average episode involves the chosen comics performing some kind of task where the winner receives immunity from being voted out. After the challenge, the comics are rounded up and asked to make the statement "I am funnier than" and the name of another contestant. The person with the most votes is put in a head to head contest against the people who claimed to be funnier than him or her. Those comics give a short stand-up set in front of a live audience and the audience votes on which comedian was the funniest. The one with the least votes is off the show.

The series initally ran for three seasons between June 2003 and October 2004, after which the series was canceled. The show was brought back two years later, airing three seasons from May 2006 to August 2008, getting canceled again. The series returned yet again in Summer 2010 for its seventh season.



Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One June 10, 2003 August 5, 2003 9
Season Two June 8, 2004 August 12, 2004 15
Season Three August 30, 2004 October 16, 2004 8
Season Four May 30, 2006 August 9, 2006 11
Season Five June 13, 2007 September 19, 2007 14
Season Six May 22, 2008 August 7, 2008 12
Season Seven June 7, 2010 August 9, 2010 10
Season Eight May 22, 2014 August 14, 2014 13
Season Nine July 22, 2015 September 9, 2015 9


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites