Information About Site Issues

As many of you have noticed, the site is experiencing issues that affect editing and display of images. This is due to resource limitations on the current server setup. I am in the process of moving the site to a dedicated server. This should be completed in a day or two.

Dennis the Menace (1959)

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Dennis the Menace
Dennis the Menace (1959)-Logo.jpg
Premiere October 4, 1959
Finale July 7, 1963
Creator Hank Ketchum (comic strip)
Network CBS
Style 30-minute sitcom
Company Dariell Productions
Screen Gems Television
Seasons 4
Episodes 146
Origin USA

Dennis the Menace is a sitcom that aired on CBS.

The show follows the lives of the Mitchell family – Henry, Alice, and their only child, Dennis, an energetic, trouble-prone, mischievous, but well-meaning boy, who often tangles first with his peace-and-quiet-loving neighbor, George Wilson, a retired salesman, and later with George's brother John, a writer.

While the series was based on the Dennis the Menace comic strip, there are differences between the two. On the sitcom and in the comics, Dennis is basically a good well-intentioned boy who always was trying to help people, but wound up making situations worse - often at Mr. Wilson's expense. In early episodes of the first season, far more disasters happened as a result of his actions than in later episodes. The character of Dennis was slightly toned down by the sixth or seventh episode. Instead of Dennis' dog Ruff, there was a smaller Cairn Terrier (per the episode "Miss Cathcart's Friend") named Fremont which belonged to George and Martha Wilson. He did not appear during the fourth season, when John and Eloise Wilson moved in to 625 Elm Street.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast
Jay North Dennis Mitchell 1 2 3 4
Herbert Anderson Henry Mitchell 1 2 3 4
Gloria Henry Alice Mitchell 1 2 3 4
Joseph Kearns George Wilson 1 2 3
Sylvia Field Martha Wilson 1 2 3
Gale Gordon John Wilson 4
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Billy Booth Tommy Anderson 1 2 3 4
Jeannie Russell Margaret Wade 1 2 3 4
George Cisar Sgt. Mooney 1 2 3 4
Irene Tedrow Mrs. Elkins 1 2 3 4
Willard Waterman Mr. Quigley 1 2 3 4
Robert John Pittman Seymour Williams 2 3 4
Sara Seegar Eloise Wilson 4


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One October 4, 1959 June 12, 1960 32
Season Two October 2, 1960 June 25, 1961 38
Season Three October 1, 1961 July 1, 1962 38
Season Four September 30, 1962 July 7, 1963 38


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
Season One March 29, 2011 5


Season Two July 26, 2011 5


Season Three October 25, 2011 5


The Final Season January 10, 2012 5


External Links