From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere April 2, 2002
Finale September 24, 2002
Creator CLAMP
Network/Provider BS-i
TBS (Japan)
The Anime Network
Style 30-minute anime science fiction
Company Madhouse
Seasons 1
Episodes 26
(List of episodes)
Origin Japan

Chobits is a seinen (young men's) anime program based on a popular manga published from 2001 to 2002 by Kodansha. The series is a blending of goofy humor interspaced with philosophical meanderings on interpersonal relationships and what it means to be human.

The series takes place in a future where personal computers look like people and have become an integral part of everyday life. Hideki Motosuwa would love to have a "persocom" of his very own, if he could afford one. It seems an incredible stroke of luck when he finds one in a trash pile. But after taking her home and activating her, he discovers "Chi" has no memory, no operating system, and a lot of people after her secrets. As Hideki teaches Chi about the world and uncovers her mysteries, he also has to deal with the complex personal lives of the people around him - which may be an even tougher challenge to handle.


Japanese Voices English Voices Character
Main Cast
Rie Tanaka Michelle Ruff Chi
Dark Chi
Tomokazu Sugita Crispin Freeman Hideki Motosuwa
Houko Kuwashima Mona Marshall Minoru Kokubunji
Fumiko Orikasa Karen Strassman Yuzuki
Kikuko Inoue Ellen Wilkinson Chitose Hibiya
Megumi Toyoguchi Julie Maddalena Yumi Omura
Tomokazu Seki Tony Oliver Hiromu Shinbo
Ryoka Yuzuki Wendee Lee Takako Shimizu
Motoko Kumai Sandy Fox Sumomo
Yuji Ueda David Lucas Hiroyuki Ueda
Yukana Nogami Kay Jensen Kotoko
Isshin Chiba - Zima
Yuka Tokumitsu - Dita
Junichi Suwabe - Yoshiyuki Kojima


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One April 2, 2002 September 24, 2002 26

DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Individual Discs (Japan)
Volume 1 June 26, 2002 1

Volume 2 July 25, 2002 1

Volume 3 August 23, 2002 1

Volume 4 September 26, 2002 1

Volume 5 October 25, 2002 1

Volume 6 November 22, 2002 1

Volume 7 December 21, 2002 1

Volume 8 January 24, 2003 1

Individual Discs (USA)
Persocom March 11, 2003 1

The Empty City May 13, 2003 1

Darkness Descends July 8, 2003 1

Love Defined September 9, 2003 1

Disappearance November 11, 2003 1

My Only Person January 13, 2004 1

Chat Room March 9, 2004 1