House of Cards (2013)

From The TV IV
(Redirected from House of Cards (2012))
Jump to: navigation, search
House of Cards
House of Cards Netflix logo
Premiere February 1, 2013
Airs On hiatus
Creator Beau Willimon
Provider Netflix
Style 60-minute political thriller drama
Company Trigger Street Productions,
Wade/Thomas Productions,
Media Rights Capital
Seasons 5
Episodes 65 (through season 5)
Status Renewed for a final season 6 (2018)
Origin USA
Watch Now Netflix
Official Twitter @HouseofCards feed on Twitter
Official Facebook House of Cards on Facebook
This article is about the 2013 USA television series. For other similarly-named programs, go to House of Cards (disambiguation).

House of Cards is a political drama airing exclusive on Netflix. Produced by Beau Willimon, the show is Netflix's first original series and its second exclusive program after Lilyhammer. The series is an adaptation of a 1990 BBC miniseries of the same name, which in turn is based on the novel by Michael Dobbs. The series follows Congressman Frank Underwood (Kevin Spacey) as he navigates the intricate, corrupt world of Washington political insiders to exact revenge on his political rivals after being passed over by the President as his Secretary of State. Interwoven into Underwood's scheming are plotlines involving his wife Claire (Robin Wright), Congressman Peter Russo (Corey Stoll), and journalist Zoe Barnes (Kate Mara).

Unique to the medium's novel distribution method, the first season premiered in its entirety on February 1, 2013. The second season will be distributed similarly on February 14, 2014. Although the second season was originally intended to be the last, Netflix renewed House of Cards for a third season on February 4, 2014.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast 1 2 3
Kevin Spacey Francis Underwood * * *
Robin Wright Claire Underwood * * *
Kate Mara Zoe Barnes * *
Corey Stoll Peter Russo *
Michael Kelly Doug Stamper * * *
Sakina Jaffrey Linda Vasquez * *
Kristen Connolly Christina Gallagher * *
Sebastian Arcelus Lucas Goodwin * *
Mahershala Ali Remy Danton o * *
Michael Gill Garrett Walker o *
Gerald McRaney Raymond Tusk o *
Molly Parker Jacqueline Sharp * *
Elizabeth Marvel Heather Dunbar o *
Derek Cecil Seth Grayson o *
Jimmi Simpson Gavin Orsay o *
Nathan Darrow Edward Meechum o * *
Orange/Red/o indicates a recurring or guest role during that season.
Dark Green indicates top billing during that season.
Supporting/Recurring Cast 1 2 3
Jayne Atkinson Catherine Durant * * *
Reed Birney Donald Blythe * * *
Rachel Brosnahan Rachel Posner * * *
Reg E. Cathey Freddy Hayes * * *
Curtiss Cook Terry Womak * * *
Larry Pine Bob Birch * * *
Sandrine Holt Gillian Cole * *
Elizabeth Norment Nancy Kaufberger * *
Constance Zimmer Janine Skorsky * *
Mozhan Marnò Ayla Sayyad * *
Paul Sparks Thomas Yates *


Season Premiere #
Season One February 1, 2013 13
Season Two February 14, 2014 13
Season Three February 27, 2015 13
Season Four March 4, 2016 13
Season Five May 30, 2017 13
Season Six 2018 13

DVD and Blu-ray Releases

Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region 1)
The Complete First Season June 11, 2013 purchase 4
The Complete Second Season June 17, 2014 purchase 4
The Complete Third Season July 7, 2015 purchase 4
Blu-ray Season Sets  (Region A)
The Complete First Season June 11, 2013 purchase 4
Blu-ray + Digital Copy Season Sets  (Region A)
The Complete Second Season June 17, 2014 purchase 4

External Links